Find all your committee and workgroup info here.

We have several ongoing committees and workgroups developing plans and initiatives critical to our mission and our members. See the list of committees below to find out more information.

Autism and Suicide

Co-chairs – Lisa Morgan & Carla Stumpf-Patton


Supporting the autism community in all issues of suicide.

Crisis Supports for the Autism Community Toolkit


Chairperson – Chris Maxwell

The purpose of the AAS Communications Committee is to represent the voices of our members and the field at large when responding to current events regarding suicide, when proactively developing communications tools for suicide prevention, and in disseminating research, news, and major updates. The committee regularly reviews new resources developed by AAS and others, as well as evaluates potential partnerships with significant impact on messaging in suicide prevention.


Suicide Reporting Recommendations: Media as Partners in Suicide Prevention

Suicide in Social Media: A Tipsheet for Parents and Providers

Diversity Committee

Chairperson – TBD


To support AAS in its mission to better understand suicide and support those impacted by providing insight and recommendations for full integration of best diversity and cultural competency awareness and practices.

Early Career Committee

Co-Chairs – Mary LeCloux and Danny Gladden

The AAS Early Career Committee was formed to enhance early career members’ professional development and create a greater sense of community. We also aspire to increase the visibility and participation of early career members within AAS leadership. The committee addresses the unique needs of early career AAS members by providing professional development opportunities for early career suicidologists, social networking events, and by connecting early career members with leaders and scholars in the AAS community.

Firearms and Suicide Committee

Co-chairs – Mike Anestis & Erin Dunkerly


Supporting the mission of AAS through subject matter expertise and communications regarding the public health issues at the intersection of firearms and suicide.


Impacted Family & Friends

Co-chairs – Annemarie Matulis & Tony Wood


The mission statement is simple: to help support family and friends emotionally impacted by a loved one’s suicidal experiences. In the interest of inclusivity we currently do not define further “suicidal experiences”. 

Indigenous Peoples’ Committee

Leadership: Luther C. Talks , Shelby Rowe, Sadé Heart of the Hawk, Rob England

Formed to respond to the growing rates of suicide amongst the First People of the United States, the Indigenous Peoples’ Committee of the AAS will work to ensure that the good work already being done by the American Association of Suicidology, its Board of Directors, and its members intentionally reflects and responds to the needs of Federally-recognized Tribes, Native communities in both urban & rural settings and Native health and wellness centers across the nation. This committee will engage Indigenous people in the work of suicide prevention, acting to strengthen AAS’ reach into Native America, demonstrating the commitment of AAS to the dissemination of culturally-appropriate and resonant suicide prevention resources, education and messaging for Indigenous peoples across the nation.

This committee will make recommendations to the AAS Board of Directors, its Executive Director, and its conference planners of expert speakers and dignitaries who are researchers, physicians, psychologists, social workers, and Tribal Leaders able to speak to the unique needs related to suicide prevention of Tribal people, and Indigenous people who live apart from their Ancestral lands.

Public Health

Co-chairs – Margaret Brown & Bruce Crow
The Public Health Committee will provide national and international leadership on behalf of AAS for advancing comprehensive data-driven public health approaches to preventing suicide, other self-directed violence, and suicidal thoughts and behaviors.

Survivors of Suicide Loss Task Force

Chairperson – Vanessa McGann

The Task Force’s vision is a world where communities and organizations provide everyone who is exposed to a suicide access to effective services and support immediately—and for as long as necessary—to decrease their risk of suicide, to strengthen their mental health, and to help them cope with grief. 

Task Force Page


National Guidelines: Responding to Grief, Trauma, and Distress After a Suicide

Technology & Innovation

Chairperson – Beau Pinkham


Supporting the mission of AAS by providing subject matter expertise, communications, and recommended best practices at the intersection of suicide, emerging technologies/innovations; This committee works specifically in areas of this intersection that emerge and evolve rapidly; that involve cross discipline technological consultation; and that are not well supported by traditional timeless or insight by other stakeholders in our field (such as academe).

Workplace Suicide Prevention and Postvention

Co-chairs – Dr. Jodi Frey & Dr. Sally Spencer-Thomas

To enroll and empower workplaces to make suicide prevention, intervention and postvention health and safety priorities. 

Workplace Suicide Prevention

Firefighters Coping with the Aftermath of Suicide

Breaking the Silence: Suicide Prevention in Law Enforcement
(Training Facilitation Guide)

Construction Industry Blueprint for Suicide Prevention

A Manager’s Guide to Suicide Postvention in the Workplace: 10 Action Steps for Dealing with the Aftermath of Suicide

Youth Advisory Board

Chairperson – Amy Kulp

Youth Suicide Prevention

Chairperson – Norine Vander Hooven

To support the mission of AAS, in better understanding suicide and those impacted by it, specifically as it applies to youth.