Download the pdf

April 20, 2023 | Washington, DC – The American Association of Suicidology (AAS), the world’s largest membership-based suicide prevention organization, has announced the 2023 Annual Award Winners presented at the 56th Annual AAS Conference in Portland, Oregon. The Robert I. Yufit Family Awards Presentations took place at the Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront on Thursday, April 20, 2023.

“We received more than sixty submissions from across the world for 2023 Annual Awards and we could not be prouder of this year’s winners,” said AAS President & CEO Leeann Sherman, MPS, CAE. “The Annual Award submissions are evaluated by a panel of judges who score each nominee
closely on a 10-point scale. The panel looks for extraordinary individuals who have made an impact on the suicidology community.”

Crisis Services Award: The Crisis Services Award winner is determined based on the demonstrated quality and effectiveness of their service, their ability to infuse core values of suicide prevention and mental wellness into their practices, community impact, and resilience in addressing the most
challenging community behavioral health needs.

  • Winner Jessica Neely: Crisis Center Director, Sandy Hook Promise National Crisis Center

Edwin S. Shneidman Award: The Edwin S. Shneidman Award is given to a person under forty years of age or a person who is not more than ten years past their highest degree earned. The eligible nominee is a person who has made outstanding contributions in research in the field of suicidology.

  • Winner Jessica Ribeiro, PhD: Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, Florida State University

Loss Survivor Award: The Loss Survivor Award has been given since 1995 to acknowledge ways in which survivors of suicide transform the trauma of their loss into suicide prevention efforts and/or survivor support.

  • Winner Gail Urso: Co-Founder, Kevin’s Song

Louis I. Dublin Award: The Louis I. Dublin award is a lifetime achievement award for outstanding services/contributions to the field of suicide prevention as evidenced by leadership, devotion and creativity.

  • Winner Richard McKeon, PhD, MPH: Senior Advisor in the 988 and Behavioral Health Crisis Coordinating Office, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

Roger J. Tierney Award: The Roger J. Tierney Service Award recognizes time and effort given to advance the association’s principles, growth and development, and/or for applied contributions to the fields of suicidology and crisis intervention.

  • Winner Steven Rogers, MD: Pediatric Emergency Medicine Physician, Connecticut Children’s Medical Center and Associate Professor, University of Connecticut

Transforming Lived Experience Award: The Transforming Lived Experience Award acknowledges a person who has survived his or her own suicidal experiences and transformed their pain into suicide prevention and recovery efforts. It is intended to recognize significant accomplishments in suicide prevention, intervention, advocacy, and/or recovery that embodies the mission of AAS.

  • Winner Rep. Michael Schlossberg: Pennsylvania House of Representatives, 132nd District

Chair’s Award:

  • Winner Richard Ramsay, MSW: LivingWorks Board of Directors and President Emeritus

About American Association of Suicidology

The American Association of Suicidology is the world’s largest membershipbased suicide prevention organization. Founded in 1968 by Edwin S. Shneidman, PhD, AAS promotes the research of suicide and its prevention, public awareness programs, public education and training for professionals and volunteers. The membership of AAS includes mental health and public health professionals, researchers, suicide prevention and crisis intervention centers, school districts, crisis center professionals, survivors of suicide loss, attempt survivors, and a variety of laypersons who have an interest in suicide prevention. Learn more about AAS at

Responsible reporting on suicide, including stories of hope and resilience, can prevent more suicides and open the door for help for those in need. Visit the Media as Partners in Suicide Prevention: Suicide Reporting Recommendations for more details. For additional information, visit and Stanford University’s Media and Mental Health Initiative. For crisis services anywhere in the world, please visit and in the continental United States chat, text or call 988.

Chris Cosentino
American Association of Suicidology