The American Association of Suicidology recognizes those within the community who make a difference each and every day.

Stay tuned for more information regarding the 2024 Awards that will be presented at AAS24 in Las Vegas!

Crisis Services Award

Nominations may come from anyone including the Crisis Call Center itself, an AAS member, or from someone who knows of or benefited from the program. Eligible nominees for the following are AAS organizational members in crisis services. Winners will be determined based on the demonstrated quality and effectiveness of their service, their ability to infuse core values of suicide prevention and mental wellness into their practices, community impact, and resilience in addressing the most challenging community behavioral health needs.

Edwin S. Shneidman Award

Eligible nominees for the Edwin S. Shneidman award must be a person under forty years of age or a person who is not more than ten years past their highest degree earned. The eligible nominee is a person who has made outstanding contributions in research in the field of suicidology

Loss Survivor Award

The Loss Survivor Award has been given since 1995 to acknowledge ways in which survivors of suicide transform the trauma of their loss into suicide prevention efforts and/or survivor support. It is intended to recognize significant accomplishments of an individual involved with suicide prevention, intervention and/or postvention advocacy/activism that embodies the mission of AAS.

Louis I. Dublin Award

The Louis I. Dublin award is a lifetime achievement award for outstanding services/contributions to the field of suicide prevention as evidenced by leadership, devotion and creativity.

Morton M. Silverman Student Award

Eligible nominees for the Morton M. Silverman Student Award for a paper written by a student on a topic directly related to the field of suicidology. Anyone who is pursuing a degree in her/his/their field and is currently enrolled as a full-time undergraduate, graduate, professional, or medical student or trainee is eligible.
Specific Entry Criteria: Submission must be between 19-20 pages, double spaced, APA format with 100-150 word abstract, references, tables and figures, etc. on separate pages.

Roger J. Tierney Service Award

The Roger J. Tierney Service Award recognizes time and effort given to advance the association’s principles, growth and development, and/or for applied contributions to the fields of suicidology and crisis intervention. The award is to recognize broadly defined service contributions which are to be distinguished from academic or research endeavors.

Transformed Lived Experience Award

The Transforming Lived Experience Award acknowledges a person who has survived his or her own suicidal experiences and transformed their pain into suicide prevention and recovery efforts. It is intended to recognize significant accomplishments in suicide prevention, intervention, advocacy, and/or recovery that embodies the mission of AAS.